December 12, 2017, 01:24:16 AM

Author Topic: Bluegrass Army Depot Hunts  (Read 2153 times)

Offline Big58cal

• Global Moderator
  • Hardcore Carnivore with Gut Pile Style!
Bluegrass Army Depot Hunts
« on: July 13, 2009, 01:59:01 PM »
Below is a link to the application to apply for a chance to hunt the Bluegrass Army Depot, just outside of Richmond, KY.

BGAD Hunt

One down side to it is that if you're selected there's about a $50-60 fee that has to be paid.  Not to mention, a hunting license and deer tags are required.  If you're out of state, that can run into some money.

One other down side is that this is a 1 morning hunt, and no preseason scouting is allowed.  It's also pretty tough to get drawn, but well worth it if you do. O0

On the positive side though, BGAD has some MONSTER bucks on it! :shock:  I graduated from Eastern KY University, which is there in Richmond.  I worked the check station during the hunts for several years weighing and aging the deer.  Some of the biggest deer I've ever seen in my life were brought into that check station.  I've also hunted it a couple of times and saw some dandies, but couldn't get a shot at them.
The only purpose of bread is to hold meat!

John Andrews Is My Hero!

In all seriousness, the Marlin is a great rifle, too. I own a Model 60, one of the best rifles ever made.
Brownings are nice, but in terms of quality AND accuarcy AND ruggedness, it's hard to beat the Marlin.
California sucks that's it.

Offline bohicajuan

• On the cover of Flashlight Magazine!
Re: Bluegrass Army Depot Hunts
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2009, 08:53:46 PM »
I hate to admit this but, I did very little hunting when I was stationed at Ft Campbell and Ft. Knox. I spent so much time in the field that the LAST thing I wanted to do when I was off was to go back INTO the field.

But you're right about big deer. They took some monsters out of both those posts back in the early-mid 80's, when I was there and I'm sure they still do.