November 20, 2017, 04:13:01 PM

Author Topic: Info needed  (Read 2404 times)

BBF

Info needed
« on: August 17, 2009, 01:26:07 PM »
Info needed from anybody in Florida or....... if you know
on a place called Pana Vista Lodge located on or near Lake Panasoffkee, FL

It advertises itslf as an Old Style Fish Camp.
Any info would be welcome.

Offline bohicajuan

• Hardcore Carnivore with Gut Pile Style!
  • On the cover of Flashlight Magazine!
Re: Info needed
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2009, 08:09:12 PM »
Sorry it took so long, but I just saw this today! :shock:

I graduated from college just South of lake Panasoffkee and fished it several times.

That's the good news. The bad news is....

I graduated from college in 1982 and haven't fished it since, so I can't comment on any fishing camps there. The lake is a littel over 4,000 acres and is a natural lake, fed by the Florida aquafer. It was and as far as I know still is a good bream and shellcracker lake.

I never had much luck with bass, but tore up the panfish. Worms, crickets and catalpa worms (if you can find them) and shrimp were killers on the bream and shellcrackers.

The lake is shallow too. If memory serves it was less than 5 feet at it's deepest. If I'm not mistaken there's also a wildlife management area nearby. I never hunted it but I THINK it was called the Panasoffkee WMA, but don't quote me on that.

That part of Florida (Sumter county) has quite a few lakes and in turn has quite few fish camps in the area and would guess they'd all be about the same with some offering kitchens and housekeeping plans.

I-75 actually crosses over part of the lake as you go North or South. It's in a good area of hunting and fishing. I killed my first Osceola turkey just South of there in Hernando county. But leases/clubs were expensive back then, so I must assume they still are.