November 24, 2017, 05:25:15 PM

Author Topic: Need your guys and gal's input!  (Read 1301 times)

Offline ray40cal

• Hardcore Carnivore with Gut Pile Style!
Need your guys and gal's input!
« on: October 10, 2009, 09:46:03 PM »
I've never hunted in a public hunting area before. Only privately owned land.  My brother and I are going to try out Perry Reservoir. We have no convenient private land hunting connections up here in northeast kansas, we'd have to drive 6 hours to get to our parent's farm down in arkansas its just too far to go do a morning of small game hunting, without staying for a few days.  Anyways yes we are going to try Perry reservoir because it is the most remote of the three WMA in our vicinity and we already have kansas licenses. We will be using one .22lr and one 12 guage. (maybe a .17 hmr too =))

My concerns come because it is bow season, and there are going to be deer hunters camo'ed up , sitting in the trees. I have no experience hunting public areas so what should i do to make sure it is a safe practice? I'm thinking it will make good sense to designate a trail to walk, and check it first for deer hunters without shooting any squirrels in the trees, and make sure its clear. It will make for marginal hunting as i'll scare everything away before i get to shoot at them. I'd rather come home empty handed than risk a hunting accident.  Please share your experiences on safe public hunting (squirrel and rabbit) i am a complete newb at this.

If we DO see deer hunters we'll just go to a totally different spot, for safety and not to scare the deer away.

Also if anyone has hunted anything at perry reservoir please do share experience. Here is the sight http://www.kdwp.state.ks.us/news/KDWP-Info/Locations/Wildlife-Areas/Region-2/Perry

There's a map on there at this url http://www.kdwp.state.ks.us/State-Parks/Locations/Map-Page/(location)/13273/(last)/13273