November 19, 2017, 03:35:26 AM

Author Topic: 12 gage loads- What I came up with  (Read 1232 times)

Offline D45/70

• Hardcore Carnivore with Gut Pile Style!
12 gage loads- What I came up with
« on: March 15, 2010, 12:20:01 PM »
You all know I'm new to loading shot gun stuff and I'm more than willing to push the envelope on reloading rifles. Well This is what we ended up with. ,BEFORE I START "IN MONTANA WE CAN AND DO USE ALMOST ANY THING TO HUNT WITH" AND BUCK SHOT IS LEGAL AND EXCEPTED" TO SHOOT TURKEY,DEER,AND COYOTES.... OK with that said; We tried a #4buck and 4 shot load with our X-full extended turkey chokes and were very underwhelmed. The mix was inconsistent and it cut down our hits with the buck. What we did end up with was; using new primed Fiocchi brown plastic 3" hulls,BP supper sonic 1 7/8 oz wads,42 grains blue dot,34( 1 5/8 oz) #4 supper buck shot,two scoops buffer and mica slick on the wads,and an over shot card, with a 6 point crimp.The listed speed is 1350 and 13500 psi. We patterned it at 55 yards on a standard shipping pallet covered with plain white newsprint.We put a coyote picture target ( natural size) and aimed at the shoulder.We are using our 870's with just bird ,bead and smooth bore and extended x full rem chocks. Of the 34 #4's all hit the paper with and average of 21 in the coyote. We ( two of us ) tested 5 each and had all the pellets ON PAPER. My Supper express has a 2 inch longer barrel than the other and I looked like I had  a bit better pattern most of the hits were in a 3 foot circle but we both averaged the same on HITS ON TARGET.