December 16, 2017, 01:29:46 PM

Author Topic: New to squirrel hunting, tips welcome!  (Read 4602 times)

Offline Predat-Her

New to squirrel hunting, tips welcome!
« on: October 01, 2012, 01:59:53 PM »
Alright, so I'm new to hunting, seeing as I'm a vegetarian  :-P but I've been doing lots of research and have decided to start including wild game in my diet as long as I'm the one that does the killing. I have a Crosman Phantom air rifle with a centerpoint scope that can pack on a maximum 7.8 ft-lbs or so depending on the pellet I use, and I've decided to use premier hollow points. I live in Canada and do not have a valid gun license yet which is why I've chosen to hunt with am air rifle. I've used some old stuffed squirrel toys I had as a kid, filled up some tiny bags with red paint and placed them where the vitals are located in an actual squirrel and that's what I've been practicing on and I'm very confident in the power of my gun and my accuracy and the toys are all basically destroyed now.

I just have a few questions:
1) My sister has a pure bred German Shepherd, he's incredibly smart and seems to have a natural treeing instinct and a fondness of chasing birds and squirrels especially. Just saying the word "squirrel" will send him jumping up and searching all the trees nearby. I know they aren't traditional hunting dogs, but could I use him to tree the squirrels and distract them so I have a better shot? He's excellent at stalking and has almost caught birds on more than one occasion but he allowed his excitement to get the best of his and he pounced too soon.