December 17, 2017, 06:34:09 PM

Author Topic: is there any trappers on here  (Read 5354 times)

Offline newtrapper23

is there any trappers on here
« on: March 16, 2015, 10:53:50 PM »
I'm new to the trapping game and this will be my first year looking for any and all advice on the sport.like how and were would I find fur byers and how much can I make per fur.trapping techniques etc. I will be working in the NH ME areas and so far for trapps I have two# 110 conibears a 220 conibear two #1 long springs and a larger coil spring leg hold cant think of the size off the top of my head thank you

Offline John Andrews

• Global Moderator
  • Hardcore Carnivore with Gut Pile Style!
  • "If it bleeds....We can kill it!" ANDREWS
Re: is there any trappers on here
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2015, 09:17:36 AM »
Welcome to Gut Piles, newtrapper!  What you trap usually depends on what the yearly fur market is paying, and your local fur buyers.

The best thing you can do is hook up with local trappers and follow their leads. They can put you on to the best fur buyers, also.

And if you are interested in through the ice beaver trapping, you should for sure get hooked up with a fellow trapper before you venture out on your own. Winter beaver trapping is better when partnered up with someone else because of the heavy workload and safety on the ice.

I quit trapping years ago.
Hunting Discussion Forum and Chat on Whitetail Deer Hunting- Bow Hunting- Muzzleloader Hunting- Fishing- Firearms- Outdoor News- Cleaning Game- Deer Pictures- Fish Pictures and more at www.gutpilestyle.com !

Offline newtrapper23

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2015, 10:57:55 AM »
Thank you john I'll have to look around up here I'm not sure if there is any trappers left but put the ear to the ground and see what pops up

Offline John Andrews

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2015, 10:06:58 AM »