October 24, 2017, 07:30:43 AM

Author Topic: self-guided elk hunt question?  (Read 886 times)

Offline bowman

self-guided elk hunt question?
« on: December 22, 2003, 02:21:35 PM »
I've been bowhunting for a couple of years now, and I love it! So much that I want to kill at least one of every animal with my bow. I don't even care about rifle hunting anymore(but I still go some, of course). Anyway, I'm looking at going to Colorado on a self-guided elk hunt. I don't want to drive clear to CO(from Missouri) and come home empty-handed. I know that's just how hunting goes sometimes, but I think I might take my rifle and get to know the country some on the first trip atleast. Do yall think this is a good idea? Is a self-guided elk bowhunt pretty hard(to kill a bull) ? Which unit should I go to?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Thanks for the help                                             Bowman
   :?:

Offline Big58cal

• Global Moderator
  • Hardcore Carnivore with Gut Pile Style!
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2003, 06:43:49 PM »
Bowman, a friend of mine goes out there each year and hunts.  He usually comes home with a pretty good one.  My advice to you though is to get a guide the first time you go out there.  The reason is, you really don't know what to expect.  Them hills are a lot bigger than we've got around here.  Also, it's more remote than around here.  Your best bet on having a good time and probably getting an elk are to use a guide the first time or two.  After that, you'll have a little more knowledge and know what you're in for.
The only purpose of bread is to hold meat!

John Andrews Is My Hero!

In all seriousness, the Marlin is a great rifle, too. I own a Model 60, one of the best rifles ever made.