November 19, 2017, 04:23:03 PM

Author Topic: Looking for mulie tips  (Read 1646 times)

Offline REDEYE

Looking for mulie tips
« on: November 02, 2005, 07:06:40 PM »
Hello everyone,
  I'm fairly new at deer hunting, and I've been going at every chace I get this season.
I'm hunting the mountains east of san diego ca. (Palomar Mtn.) Anyways, I finally found an area that seems very good and to be holding lot's of deer. nobody gets back in this place I'm hunting and the signs are every where.  Last sat. I found two tree rubs and the trails are as wide as human trails but its 100% deer tracks.  So I was creeping back to this hidden meadow surrounded by oak trees and thick brush,when I spotted a huge doe looking right at me ,so I froze and we just stared at each other for a solid 2 min.,then she just casually turned her head and walked away and at that same moment that she turned I heard a comotion like Ive never heard in the woods before. I'm posotive it was a couple of bucks ringing each others bell. I'd hear the hit and the sound of their horns sliding on each other and the sound of dry leaves being kicked and pushed. however  all this activity was out of sight from too much cover and by the time I crept down to where I could see. they had dispersed.

So, to get to the point. I'm looking for suggestions . I'm going back on fri. sat. sun.
Sunday being the last day of the general buck season.  so should I try rattling for them or just go sit over this area and wait it out. ?
                                                                   Any input is apprecited,
                                                                                                    redeye

Offline John Andrews

• Global Moderator
  • Hardcore Carnivore with Gut Pile Style!
  • "If it bleeds....We can kill it!" ANDREWS
Re: Looking for mulie tips
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2005, 10:05:47 AM »