December 14, 2017, 10:08:04 AM

Author Topic: newbie here  (Read 1158 times)

Offline chatyon

newbie here
« on: November 10, 2005, 12:07:27 PM »
Hey folks I found this forum link through a member of my forum which is dedicated to the idea of making us better hunters and friends that I own and operate  at delphi. But I am a life long hunter and conservationist.  I prefer Archery and Black Powder hunting to long range shooting since I live here in the sunny south (Georgia). Our typical distance here in my area is 100yds or less. I don't believe in nor do I advocate all the hype that is poured in to ideas that one has to be covered in multiple layers of scent blocking clothing and use the biggest guns and the most expensive bows to bring down the monster animals.

My rifles consist of a .50 cal Hawken Black Powder, .303 British long gun, 12ga pump action shotgun  and an original Russian SK complete with the original scope.  I fear not the going against the biggest of North American game and I abhor the idea of high fence hunting no matter the size of the property the fence encloses. I like Ted Nugent, Jackie Bushman, Dan Fitzgerald and Bill Jordan and I try to follow their advice until they start talking about all the gotta have products.

I believe there is always something new to learn and the more we learn about the harvesting of game and the proper care and treatment of the game once we have taken it, the better  and the more efficient we become. I subscribe to the notion that, "if we don't try we don't do and if we don't do, then why are we on the earth"?