October 21, 2017, 12:47:59 AM

Author Topic: SCOPES FOR HUNTING  (Read 579 times)

Offline black bear 84

• Been seen in these woods a time or two..
SCOPES FOR HUNTING
« on: October 07, 2007, 07:45:38 AM »
SCOPES

Hi guys,
I have been using scopes for forty years, and have had enough experience with them that I decided to post a few lines that may be of help to the new hunter.

My friends consider me a little extreme concerning optics and scopes in particular, since my hunting rifles usually have as many as three scopes.

That is right! And the reason for that is my fear of Murphy spoiling my hunt. You know what I mean, Murphy’s Law, "if something can go wrong it will?"
Also my motto concerning equipment is that two is one and one is none, so based on that premise my rifles have a spare pre-sighted scope and rings carried in the backpack.
Also, another scope of the total opposite magnification is also carried in the backpack to take care of those situations where the main scope will be too much or too little.
For example, in my Remington 742 in 30-06, I have a Bushnell 1 ˝ to 6x Lite Site as a main scope when I hunt in Maine over bait for bears (at very short distance and the scope is kept at 1˝x).  The spare scope is a Bushnell 3x9 Lite Site, and the low light, long range scope is a Leupold Vary X III 3˝ to 10x50 mm with an illuminated reticle. This scope was needed when a farmer spotted a big bear at the edge of a big field dining on clover.

THE REMINGTON 742 AND THE SCOPES

The outfitter switched me from the bait to this new location where the closest shot I will had was over 250 yards. Of course, the change in location makes the switch to the Leupold  long range scope imperative, and also a change from the 30-06 180 grain round nose ammo I was using over the bait, to the ammo that I had sight in  the long range scope, a spitzer 150 grains reload.